Every Sunday should be like this

IMG_2226 (3)

On Sunday we loaded the bikes on the back of the car and headed to Avon for a ride along the Farmington Canal.  It’s very flat but there were stretches of time when we were the only ones on the trail; we would sprint to get our heart rates up. At times we were riding the path alongside traffic as we made our way through Avon and Simsbury but most of our ride was on the trail surrounded by trees finally budding, parks and brooks. We passed, and were passed by, other cyclists, walkers both with and without dogs and roller bladers whenever we neared a parking lot but once out a mile or two the path was ours and ours alone until the next parking lot, the next cluster of people.

No Sooner had Bill said “I wonder if we’ll ride into MA,”  when we came up on the “Welcome to Massachusetts” sign. It was a beautiful and easy ride but, somehow, riding past that sign into MA felt like a bigger accomplishment than it actually was.  We continued on for a few miles before turning around and retracing our route back to the car. I’ve said this before and I’ll probably say it again but riding my bike takes me right back to when I was a kid; I am happy and carefree. I don’t feel competitive, don’t need to be at the front of the pack, just enjoy pedaling at my own pace…speeding up when I want, slowing down when I need to catch my breath or drink some water or blow my nose (damn you allergy season!)

IMG_2227

blurry shot of Bill drinking some water before heading back on the trail

IMG_2229 (3)

 At home we dropped off the bikes and went for a quick bite to eat at the cafe where we met on our first date. Ice cream followed and showers after that.  A little relaxing and then it was time to get ready for the work week; there were clothes to be washed, lunch to be made and plans to firm up.  All in all a great day.  It’s these easy, fun days I need to remember when I’m stressed or feeling overwhelmed. Sunday.

Categories: Musings, Travel

1 reply

Leave a Reply

