Thank you Albert Einstein

“We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life. All that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.”

I came across this quote a few months ago; someone in my office who must have a book of quotes, will oftentimes add one to our computer system’s home page. Some quotes have been silly, some thoughtful, some have been from actors, cartoon characters, sports stars, Albert Einstein. When I read this quote I actually saved it so I could go back and read it again. I want to tape it to my bathroom mirror, use it as a bookmark and read it when I turn the page, tuck it in my wallet in front of my credit card so I’ll see it every time I put gas in the car.

Speaking of, I need to recall this quote when I’m ogling someone’s new car, remember that my car gets me everywhere I want to go…without a car payment. Or when I’m at a party or event and see a woman beautifully dressed in the latest trend, remember I can find a knockoff at a discount store if I really want to go to the trouble of copying it (which I almost always never do). Or when I use the bathroom in someone’s spacious and gorgeous brownstone and wish I lived in a house like that, remember that I love my house and my neighborhood and the (slightly) lower mill rate. These comforts and luxuries don’t make me happy, they really don’t; but having them, and their price tags, would surely stress me out.

I have everything I need. I know what makes me happy, what I am enthusiastic about – being with my friends and family, exercising my mind and body, planning a trip with Bill, looking forward to the next adventure but remembering to enjoy today, writing for my blog. Reminds me of another quote I’ve seen: “The best things in life aren’t things.”

IMG_3383 (2)

IMG_0233 (2)

Vero and West Palm Beach

b6951-img_0272

IMG_2248 (3)

2 replies

Leave a Reply

