Following Curiosity

IMG_1392 (2)

Hiking Mt Washburn

I read this article online and watched the clip with Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love. She talks about how, throughout our life, we’re encouraged to follow our passion even though many of us don’t have a clear and precise idea of what that is. I fall squarely into that category; I am searching, seeking, questioning but have yet to discover the answer. Instead, Gilbert suggests we follow our curiosity.

“Follow it,” she says. “It might lead you to your passion or it might not. You might get nothing out of it at all except a beautiful, long life where all you did was follow your gorgeous curiosity. And that should be enough too.”

That I can do, Elizabeth, that I can do. I can follow my curiosity and enjoy where it takes me.

IMG_1882 (2)

Curious Bill and Marissa in Escalante National Park

My interests are varied and vast. I love getting lost in a great book, going along with the narrator and characters on their journey, be it a fictitious place and time or a memoir of personal struggle and triumph. I’ve learned to make jewelry with paper, metal, beads. I’ve crocheted throws and have knitted more hats and scarves than I can give away.

I like most movie genres including horror; I’ll sit in the dark theater or on my living room couch with my hands covering my eyes at the first zombie siting wondering why I torture myself. I have a list of Broadway shows I want to see, places I want to visit, cultures I want to know. I’ve studied ASL, Spanish and Italian; I understand some Spanish, am hopeless in the other two. Photography classes start at the end of the month.

Biking, hiking and running are woven into my days and allow my mind the opportunity to wander and roam. Yoga teaches me to bring it back to the present.

I eat sushi, pizza, saag paneer at least once a week. I bake batches of Christmas cookies spiked with nuts, craisins, chocolate, toffee, coconut each year. My gardening skills have produced cucumbers, peppers, squash, eggplant and tomatoes this summer. I planted sugar snap peas from seed a few days ago and am anxiously waiting to see if they’ll sprout.

I’ve poured coffee and have iced donuts, I’ve served pizza and pitchers of beer and soda, I’ve cleaned houses, worked retail, written ads for a pharmacy franchise, sold electronics.

I can’t say I’m bored. I may not have pinpointed my passion yet but I’m following my curiosity. Who knows, maybe I’ll find it one of these days but, if not, I think this could be enough.

IMG_1723 (2)

Silliness at Lone Star Geyser

4 replies

Leave a Reply

