San Francisco – a look back

IMG_0257

Looking past the Wharf to Alcatraz

In an attempt to pull myself out of a funk I’ve been in for the past week or so I sat on my bed, laptop balanced on my outstretched legs, and looked at photos of past vacations. In October 2011, Bill and I had the opportunity to cat sit for a friend of a friend in San Francisco. It was a week of firsts; the first time either of us had been there, our first week-long vacation together, our first anniversary.

IMG_0287

Fog and the Golden Gate Bridge

IMG_0425 (3)

At Dusk

The apartment we had the good fortune of staying in was smack in the city and we took full advantage of our location and the cable car system. The friend who hooked us up lives out there; she offered us maps of the city and recommendations of what to see…and we saw it all or close to it. We ferried over to Alcatraz, rode bikes over the Golden Gate Bridge, we walked through The Castro, Haight-Ashbury, China Town, Little Italy. We ate chowder at Fisherman’s Wharf and chocolate at Ghiradelli’s.

IMG_0230

Chocolate!

I’d go out for a run in the morning, head toward the Wharf then loop back home. Bill would have coffee ready when I got back and we’d sit at the kitchen table and plan our day. It was relaxed, we weren’t on any set schedule beyond feeding the cat twice a day. We were tourists and didn’t care who knew, snapped pictures of anything that caught our eye. At least once, if not twice, we rode the Cable Car to the end of the line and back just to see where we’d end up.

IMG_0384 (2)

I came home slightly obsessed with Alcatraz. I may have read a book or two about its history.

IMG_0247 (3)

Haight Ashbury

IMG_0409 (3)

Selfie after crossing the Golden Gate Bridge

I hadn’t looked at these photos in quite a long time. Scrolling through them, with Bill, remembering each day and each new adventure put a smile on my face. Maybe seeing these is just what I need to get out of my funk.

IMG_0388 (2)

City Hall at Night (Bill’s photo)

4 replies

Leave a Reply

