I feel a change comin’ on

It feels like the universe is nudging me to take stock, re-evaluate, prioritize what’s important. I’ve been reading books, blogs, op-eds and articles that all tell different stories but, to me, have the same message – live simply, be joyful, take risks, do what I love. On Saturday, after lunch with my sister, we hung out at her house talking. I, once again, brought up my restlessness, how I wish I wasn’t so tied down with a mortgage and other financial responsibilities. In the ten plus years since my divorce, I’ve toyed with the idea of selling my house….about a dozen times! I’ve had the agent I bought the house from and, more recently, an agent who I’m friends with come in, walk around, talk numbers. I got as far as getting one market appraisal from all those appointments but have never been able to pull the trigger and list it. The reasons are varied and legit but so what.

My sister asked “why don’t you sell your house? You have a newer kitchen, you’ve been working on the yard.” I immediately said “no,” and thought “after all the digging, planting, watering I’ve done I want to enjoy the fruits of my labor.” We moved on to other topics and the subject was dropped.

IMG_2692 (2)

view from border garden around the deck

Now, three days later I’m mulling over the idea again. Maybe the conversation with Liz planted the seed; maybe the messages I’m getting from the universe are helping it take root. I don’t live extravagantly, rent a room to help offset costs, but do I really need to live here? Couldn’t I live somewhere else for less, free myself up to explore other careers, other opportunities? Bill has been renovating his house this year which has me thinking about my house and how I can spruce it up over time in order to sell it someday. Someday could be next Spring or the Spring after that but I’m ready to roll up my sleeves, get out the paint cans and brushes, maybe the hammer and nails, and start prettying things up around here.

I feel a change comin’ on and I’m not going to fight it. I’m getting ready to pull the trigger.

IMG_1540 (2)

Joyful at The Old Faithful Inn

9 replies

  1. Keep your eye on the ball Ger and it will reach your goal. All things will come to you when you need them. I always say, “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.” I better figure it out. Time is a marching! Well Granma Moses found it in her 90’s so I have hope. xo

Leave a Reply

