The Older I Get

10959879_10152555461117750_3001943239627609218_n

I gave my sister this card for her birthday last month.

“How true,” I thought at the time. When I was younger the ages we are now seemed so old. For years leading up to Y2K I’d think “I’m going to be 38 in 2000.” Hard for my younger self to believe, even harder to realize fourteen New Years have come and gone since. Now that I’m here, In my fifties, older, I don’t feel old and I don’t consider myself old. I’m more physically active than I was in my thirties; sometimes I forget I’m not thirty and resort to eating an ibuprofen or three after a workout. Otherwise, I’m on board with the clichés: you’re as young as you feel: age is just a number.

But last night when I got home, after running seven-plus long, arduous miles on the treadmill I felt as if I could lay on the couch, close my eyes and sleep for twelve hours. My stomach was a bit upset and I was exhausted. Dare I say, I felt older-ish. I had a few things to do, we’re going to VT with Tom and Jana today, so I couldn’t curl up in a ball under my blanket. There was dinner to eat, packing to do, food prep for snacking this weekend to be completed. I managed to keep my laptop tucked away in its bag, I can lose precious time on that thing, and get to bed at a reasonable hour. I woke up feeling much better today, feeling that Old was off in the distance, not nearby.

I’m happier now than I was in my thirties, more content, more accepting. Does that come with age or where I am in my life? Or both?

21 replies

  1. After seeing my 86 year old aunt attend aerobic classes three times a week, go on marathon shopping spree, and keep her condo spic and span clean, I no longer think of being “old.” I know a few 20 and 30 year olds who can’t do what she’s able to do. She’s my inspiration. Have a great weekend, Geralyn!

    • Wow, Jill. Your aunt sounds amazing. I bet she’s been exercising and moving her whole life, hasn’t she? Very inspirational. I can’t even marathon shop now (ask my sister, she’ll confirm this). 🙂 Enjoy your weekend too.

      • She is amazing, Geralyn. Unfortunately, late last year, she had to go into an assisted living, after a stroke. She hates it and still wants to go. She does attend their exercise classes that are offered four times a week.

  2. Geri It’s all in your mind and spirit and you have both on your side. Keep it up always.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️😊😊😊😊😊

  3. I agree with your thoughts completely… and yet, isn’t it odd how feeling old does sometimes creep up on you… all of a sudden, it is “I can’t remember this or that which is odd because my memory has always been very sharp” or “what’s the word for this… I am drawing a blank!”… We need to keep active, keep exercising mind and body to stay young 🙂

    • Drawing a blank on a word….happens to me a lot. Sometimes I can’t remember if I’ve washed my hair or not when I’m in the shower. Glad to hear I’m not alone. Yes, we need to keep active and moving. Thanks for commenting.

  4. I think both. My fifties were my best decade. This one’s not bad…but I really hate the sound of it and since I’ve retired I’m way to sedentary, but I have and take the time to contemplate the miracle of just being here every single day. I feel like I’ve escaped so many bullets that have taken other, better people out already. Rock on! (Maybe it was something you ate that curled you into a ball, not just being pooped from your run.)

    • When I saw this card, Elizabeth, I knew I had to buy it. Yes, it’s so true. I remember when 30, 40, 50 seemed old, not anymore! I’m pretty happy with my life and I think that’s come with age.

    • Happy Happy 40! I went through a lot of changes in my forties, all for the better! Don’t feel blue, forties are awesome and fifties are starting out even better (in case you need something else to look forward to) 🙂 Enjoy your special weekend.

Leave a Reply

