Something Rotten

11091395_10153116375935295_91276719170154985_n

Back in November, a special preview price for tickets to the new Broadway play, Something Rotten, was being offered. The cost per ticket, $15.90, matched the year the show was set in. I bought two tickets for Bill’s daughter Casey, who lives in Queens, for Christmas and another two for Bill (and me) for his birthday. Unfortunately, they weren’t together, we were sitting with other friends, but we arranged to meet during intermission and after the show. So Monday night, we boarded a 4:57 train to Grand Central Station for an 8:00 curtain.

The temperature was around 30, nowhere near as cold as it’s been, but I was chilled standing on the platform while we waited for our train. I wrapped my scarf tighter around my neck, positioned myself in front of a billboard to block the wind, leaned into Bill. The train ride was uneventful, arriving in NYC on time, to our delight. We walked to the theater on 44th Street between 7th and 8th Avenue. Early, we walked past the entrance and rounded the corner in search of a Starbuck’s. We didn’t have far to go, maybe two or three storefronts, before Bill spotted the logo’d windows. We warmed ourselves up with lattes, ordered extra hot.

We finished our drinks and walked back to the theater, met Jana and Colin, found our seats. Something Rotten, a musical comedy about two brothers, stuck in the shadow of William Shakespeare (wearing tight leather pants and jacket with a pelvis to rival Elvis Presley’s), trying to write their next hit play is hilarious. Through a series of funny events with uproarious characters they unearth the future of theater…..musicals, a far cry from the Shakespearean plays being performed. There are references to other musicals throughout; honestly some went over my head but I caught enough of them to be amused. The audience was wild, adding to the fun of the show. We laughed out loud allot, clapped with passion, even gave a standing ovation after a rowdy number in the first act. Jana had seen the show during rehearsals and warned us it’d be funny, none of us were disappointed.

We met up with Casey and her friend, Kate, during intermission as promised, talked about the first act, excited to see what would come next. The second act, a little slow getting started and tough topping the first act, also delivered to the excitement of the crowd. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a more boisterous Broadway play; maybe we let loose because the show is in previews or maybe we were thrilled with the price. Whatever the reason I’m sure the actors played off of our enthusiasm and, in turn, gave us an extraordinary performance.

Meeting in the lobby after the final bow we compared overall opinions. We unanimously loved it! Bill, Casey and I said good night to the others and hurried to Grand Central; Casey caught the subway to Queens, we were on the 11:23 to CT. The train pulled into Milford’s station at 1:10 but by the time we got home, unwound, read a little, something I need to do before going to sleep, it was 2:00 am. I was tired and didn’t want to get up when the alarm went off at 6:15 but, surprisingly, not as tired as Sunday afternoon.

 

 

7 replies

  1. I love the theater. I think a bad night on Broadway is better than a good night in a lot of other places. Unfortunately, I don’t live close by. But when I get a chance…I’m totally there. Thanks for the review.

    • I like the way you think, Renee. 🙂 We are lucky enough to live within a 2 hour train ride into NYC. Tix prices are high but this was a steal! If you ever get to NY I’d highly recommend seeing this show. Have a good weekend!

    • It was a packed house, Mary. Great promotional price, too bad the tickets are normally about 10X. I’ve had many conversations about this with people I’ve met involved in the theater; it’s a very expensive endeavor. I do love it! Hope you’re having a good weekend.

  2. So funny, I was expecting to read about something that had gone to green penicillin in your frig and then I see that it was a play! I got “punked”, although it was not deliberate.

Leave a Reply

