Be Still

ID-100181697

freedigitalphotos.net

“You have to allow a certain amount of time in which you are doing nothing in order to have things occur to you, to let your mind think.”  Mortimer Adler
I am blessed with an abundant life – it’s full of friends, family, love, adventure, hobbies, writing and the everyday stuff of work, bill paying, responsibilities. Sometimes, I need to remind myself to stop, say no, look inward, be still.
IMG_4620 (2)

After party invitation

Since the weekend before last, when we were in VT, I’ve been to NYC twice. Tuesday night I was invited to the opening night and after party of a new Broadway play, Hand to God. The original play was hilarious, raunchy, sad, moving, deep and I loved it. The theater holds 800 people and I believe we were all invited to the after party. The crowd, decked out in their finest, grazed from tables of salads, pastas, chicken, fish, finished the meal with petite cheesecakes, chocolate peanut butter mouse, cookies. I connected with a friend from college who was involved in the play, a special treat. All in all, the entire night was a special mid-week treat thanks to the generosity of Jana. We stayed overnight, I got up and took a train back to CT to put in a half day at work.
IMG_0814

Catching up on the past 18 years.

IMG_4626 (2)

Hand to God party

Sunday, we were back in the city to hear Bill’s daughter’s quintet perform a concert. It was sunny and much warmer than it’s been since the arrival of Spring. The venue, a house built in the early 1900s now dedicated to cultural and musical events, was perfect, the acoustics good, the atmosphere intimate. Three of the four composers of the music performed were in attendance. They’re young and wildly talented, their music fresh and engaging. Afterward, a champagne reception was held at the rear of the first floor which led out to a cozy courtyard that was all ours for the afternoon. It was a quick trip; I was home by 9:00.

IMG_4632 (2)

I’ve been in the subway several times in the last week

IMG_4639 (2)

Washington Square Winds (in red) and composers

All of these experiences add to the richness of my life. But, I need to slow down, take stock. I’m still bored in my job and want to make a change. Making that change takes focus and energy, two things I haven’t given my attention to. I’ve had a few interesting phone calls, fact-finding missions I call them, but need to be quiet, look within to find answers to some of my questions. I’ve been distracted, scattered, the opposite of focused.

I was scheduled to go to Toronto for two days next week for my job but the trip’s been postponed until May. I’m choosing to look at not getting on a plane next week as a good sign, a greater force allowing me to stay put for the next week or so. I’ll be home this weekend then off to NJ the following one. I’m feeling the need to lay low over the next several days.

Bill and I took a walk along the beach Monday night. I mentioned all of this to him. I said I’d like to look into a one day retreat at the Mercy Center, where I’ve been before to rejuvenate and breathe, to do nothing so my mind can think. Today, I sent an email to a group of friends about an event on Friday and one of them replied that she couldn’t make it, she was going to be at the Mercy Center. I took that as a good sign.

15 replies

  1. Hi Ger the universe never ceases to nudge us. Your friends response that she was going to the Mercy Ctr. was yours. I went to a retreat last year and am due for another visit so I can listen to the messages in the “stillness”. The quiet is resounding and restorative. Xo Mom

  2. Oh, I love being still. I’m not naturally one that is able to stay very still for long, but I have a regular quiet time in the mornings to pray and read my Bible. In times like these I am rejuvenated, refreshed, and even cry at times from the overwhelming peace that passes all understanding. Sooooo awesome that you’re going to stop and take some time to breathe. Love it.
    “All of these experiences add to the richness of my life.”
    –I hear you loud and clear. I love experiencing art. I used to do musical theatre when I was younger, and then worked with an arts group. Have you ever read the book of Ecclesiastes. I love that book. It talks about when one is able to eat and drink and find satisfaction in his work, that this is the gift of God.
    Great post.
    🙂

    • I normally have a morning routine of reading some spiritual books and praying too but have found myself missing a day here or a couple of days there. I’m sure this is part of my need to be still. I’ve got to get back into my routine and know I’ll feel better. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments, Staci!

  3. You do lead a rich life! I hope you enjoy and get a lot from your stay at the Mercy House. Most of all, I hope you are able to sort out the prickly question about which way to jump career wise. I know that can be very difficult.

Leave a Reply

