Taking full advantage of the taper

IMG_4628 (2)I’m coming up on the final week before the marathon. My long run last weekend was twelve miles, this weekend will be eight. There have been four and five mile runs during the week, less next week. And then. 26. 2 miles. I have no idea if I’m ready but I do know I am not as prepared as I’ve been in the past. I’ve been told by more than one person that I’ve got this.

“You know how to run a marathon,” they’ve all said. Maybe I do, we’ll see. I know I’ve run a handful of marathons, don’t have anything to prove and that feels good.

The best part of the weekend will be connecting with my friends. Four of us will share a hotel room, a bathroom, laughter, closeness, friendship. I know I’ll cherish the time with these three and the memories we’ll make.

I can always decide to run the half marathon when I get to NJ, ease my mind and body of the mental torture and physical struggles I’ve had. But why would I do that?

18 replies

  1. Good luck girl :). I know you will kick that marathons you know what lol. And The weekend is always a great time to connect with friends and family. It’s sort of like a mini vacay. Can’t wait to hear what happens when you post next.

Leave a Reply

