In the silence you can hear the bees

I live in a neighborhood dating back to the 20s. My house, like most, a colonial with leaded vestibule and sunroom doors, built-in shelves and wide crown molding was built in 1929. Sidewalks line most of the streets as do mature trees: flowering cherry, plum, crabapple, dogwood. In the spring, peering down the main artery that cuts our neighborhood in half, the tree-lined road is a canopy of pink, purple, white. Most evenings people walk their dogs, their children, themselves through the neat grid of the neighborhood.

Weekends in the summer the buzz starts early. Push mowers and riding mowers are fired up by 7:00 am, the racket cutting through our yards and over fences. Hedge trimmers, chain saws, weed wackers permeate the air until I no longer hear any specific machine, just a cacophony of noise. Sitting on my deck with my morning cup of coffee, I’ve come to expect it.

IMG_4896 (2)

Where I enjoy my morning coffee

IMG_4913 (2)

daisies and lilies

IMG_4900 (2)

Potted Zinnias

But during the week, in the few minutes I have before the mad dash to get ready for work, when I perform my morning inspection of the flowers and vegetables I’ve been cultivating, it’s deliciously quiet. In the stillness the only buzzing I hear are the bees flitting from one flower to the next. The little black and yellow pollinators favor the Salvia and Echinacea, float from blossom to blossom, buzz as they work. My attention fixated on them I count six, seven, eight bees hovering in the air around each plant and landing in its flowers, causing the entire row of them to hum and vibrate.

I hope they see the yellow and green squash requiring their assistance a few feet away in my little garden. They better not fill up on nectar and get too lazy to make the short trip across the driveway; there’s pollen in those flowers that need moving from male to female. I’m counting on the bees for dinners of grilled and sautéed yellow squash and zucchini. I shouldn’t worry, I’ve watched them work steadily through the day even with all the background noise.

IMG_4904 (2)

Squash flowers needing the attention of bees

29 replies

  1. Your place is lovely. I would kill for a yard where the deer didn’t eat everything! Our neighbor has 3 hives so I always have bees pollinating. At first the neighbors were skeptic but the bees never bother people unless you start swatting them. Never been bitten!

  2. I enjoyed the morning stroll through your garden as I sipped my coffee. Lovely. I hear the buzzing of bees on the honeysuckle arbor every time I walk out the door. It is the only buzzing I could appreciate.

  3. Love reading about your neighborhood, a beautiful place to live. Your garden pictures as wonderful ~ here is to all those days when you get to quietly enjoy nature.

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. If you’re someone who likes new construction, state of the art anything, or even central air, this is not the neighborhood for you. But, I love it. Seems like most of the houses here have a red room too, mine’s the dining room. 🙂

  4. What a lovely garden. So tranquil. I’m so glad you have bees! I’ve seen only one bee in the last few months.

    I hear a lot of birds in the morning. The lawn mowers a fired up at 7 on a few mornings around here. 🙂

  5. Your neighborhood sounds lovely and your garden and coffee spot wonderful. Ahhhhhh, how I’d love to have fresh fruits and veggies, let alone echinacea.

      • Sounds so nice and peaceful. I would love it too. I live in Brazil, a little away from the city and it’s so nice here, with the sun usually shining (even when it’s cooler). I love to go out for a quick morning run and then walk and pray a little before starting my day. I love that.
        Have a great week Geralyn.
        🙂

  6. What a lovely outdoor space you have there. Shame about the weekend noise 😦 Those echineas are beautiful. Hope you find some quiet time this weekend. 🙂

  7. Your yard is lovely.

    Quiet is hard to come by in LA, but if I am out and walking before 6, I, too, can hear the bees in the Brazilian pepper trees. (Sounds poetic, right? Only those trees are actually now considered an invasive species in California!)

Leave a Reply

