Better after 50

December is starting off to be as busy as November was. I am struggling to keep up with everyone’s blogs but hope to read and comment on them all. Better late than never. And, talking about better – I expanded a blog post into an essay and started searching the internet to see where I could submit it. I stumbled onto Better After 50, copied my essay into the allotted space and hit send.Β The following day I received an email that my essay would be published and today’s the day. I’ve got other exciting news to share but will wait on that for a date in the very near future. December’s just begun but looks like it’s going to be a good month.

You can read my essay online, copy and paste the link below.

http://betterafter50.com/2015/12/how-i-made-peace-with-my-dad/

IMG_4226 (2)

Last Christmas with dad

33 replies

  1. Reading your essay was both heartbreaking and heartwarming, Geralyn. I’m happy you’ve been able to make peace with your dad. He’s a very lucky man to have you in his life. Congratulations on having your essay published. xx

  2. Wow, can I relate to that essay! What grace you have to arrive at such a sense of peace about your dad. Each of us with a “problem parent” has to deal with it in our own way, I guess, but your story is much more about you than about your father.

    Congrats on the publication!

  3. First off, CONGRATULATIONS! I’m thrilled for you, Geralyn.
    This is such a beautiful story of forgiveness. They made an excellent decision in publishing it.
    Thank you for sharing it with us. ❀

    • Thanks so much, Jill! It’s weird seeing my name on the internet! And a bit scary exposing myself. But, this little blog of mine is inspiring me to write more and from the heart. πŸ™‚

  4. Congratulations! I know you’re written on this topic of your dad and forgiveness and several bloggers have encouraged you to take your words further – so glad you did and it’s going ‘ out there ‘ in the universe. Yay!

  5. That is a lovely picture of you and your dad. And your post is beautifully written, a tribute to the dual power and need of forgiveness. You are so right. Each one of us has a story and the story usually informs who we become, good or bad.

    • Thanks, Linda. My dad’s early childhood was horrible but, in past years, I didn’t care. So, I wanted to write an essay that was honest about how I dealt with his limitations and, really, my issues regarding him.

      • You did well. You were honest about how you felt and about what lead you to alter or reroute your feelings of anger and abandonment. Some people never get that far, especially not before its too late.

  6. Congratulations, Geralyn. I read your earlier piece on you and your dad. This one’s even better. Your story is so meaningful and has so much heart.

Leave a Reply

