Where my head and heart are

Last year ended on a high note. I started a new job, career really, the last week of December, had an essay published on Better After 50, was fleshing out a couple of other ideas for essays. All writing came to a screeching halt once immersed in my new position.  I’ve had to learn basically everything and I mean everything. I’m working in a different industry and am starting from zero…or pretty close to it. I don’t know any of the language or terms used, none of the buzz words or acronyms; google is my best friend. The company’s partners and my co-workers have been wonderful and I love getting up and going to work everyday. But, at the end of the day I’m exhausted.

I never fully understood why Bill wanted nothing more than to eat dinner, maybe take a walk, watch some TV and relax when he got home from a 10 hour work day. Honey, I get it now. Since December 28th I’ve been coming home, eating dinner, watching a little TV, reading a couple of pages of a book and falling asleep from the sheer exhaustion of using my brain all day. I love it! I really do. I look forward to each day. While my blog posts and writing have suffered I’ve come to believe I’ll reach a balance; I’ll work, blog, write again.

Then eleven days ago one of my very dear friends was involved in a freak accident and suffered a very serious injury. She’s made some teeny improvements, her progress will be measured in tiny increments, but my heart is with her and her husband. I want to spend most of my time with them and our circle of friends.

I’ve checked in with a couple of bloggers very randomly and sparingly but do miss regularly reading your posts. My head and my heart just aren’t here right now, they’re needed elsewhere. Hope to get back here soon and catch up on all I’ve missed.

 

IMG_0260

Finally got to use the snow shoes Sunday morning

 

 

38 replies

  1. Good to see you again, Geralyn. I’m so sorry to read about your friend’s accident and wish her well again very soon. You sound very happy in your new job, and are looking good in your snow gear. 🙂

  2. So good to hear from you. I was wondering how the new job was going but I had this feeling…you know…new job, a lot to learn, exhaustion. Prayers for your friend. Forward progress, even if it’s incremental is better than none.

    • Thanks, Kate. Forgot how exhausting learning can be. And, now, with my friend’s injury my desire to write and blog has been put on hold. Hope to get back here and read all about the kitties soon.

  3. So glad to hear that the new job is fun and captivating. I’m sure once you crawl over the peak in the learning curve, you’ll get back into your writing/blogging. Meanwhile, a stolen weekend snow shoe trip looks like a great reward for your hard work. I’m really sorry to hear about your friend. I hope we will get a report on her improvement in the months to come. You are a dear friend to be there for her and her family.

    • Thanks, Linda. Have missed my blogging friends but I’m low on energy these days and I need to conserve for the job and my friend. I hope to be able to update you with her improvements. She is much loved. Hope you are well. 🙂

  4. Wonderful to hear from you Geralyn. Great to hear that you love your new job and exhaustion from learning, doing and experiencing is a good thing. Very sorry to hear about your friend – wish her all the best in her recovery. Eventually you’ll find your balance, take care of yourself and best wishes in your new position!

    • Thanks, Mary! I forgot how much I enjoy learning. I’m so happy I took a leap of faith and landed here. Yes, we are all praying and circling our friend, her husband and their family. Hope you’ve been well and 2016 is starting out great. Miss your artwork. 🙂

  5. Ohhhhhhh Geralyn, I have been thinking about you. Checked your blog and noticed it has been a long time since we’ve seen you here. I was even thinking about the essay that was published and how I haven’t read it yet. I remember opening up to it before traveling, and then I got sick right after Christmas and then we traveled. I’ve opened up to it now so I can read it later.
    That’s so great that you are enjoying your new job and the challenges it brings. I am so sorry to hear about your friend’s accident though. I hope and pray that she improves more and more every day.
    You take all the time you need. It’s great to see you though.
    🙂

    • Thanks, Staci. I was sick for 2 weeks during the holidays, too. It’s been a crazy January with ups and downs. I appreciate you keeping my friend in your prayers. She needs them all! Hope you are well.

  6. It sounds like you are exactly where you need to be, fully present in the present demands of your life. We’re not going anywhere. Take good care of your soul, your time, your family, and when you have more space to breathe and write, the words—and your readers—will be waiting. xoxo Julie

  7. So happy to see your feet appear again! “Honey,I get it now” made me chuckle. Patience, prayers and positive thoughts being sent to you and our strong, beautiful friend.

  8. I’m so sorry about your friend. I’ll pray for her.

    With all that’s going on for you, I’m surprised you have time to blog at all. I’m glad you love your job. Mental work is work. That’s why you’re so tired. Best wishes.

    • Thanks, Nicki. I miss reading everyone’s posts and blogging but am distracted right now. Better to take a break and come back when things quiet down. Appreciate the prayers for my dear friend.

  9. You’re about two steps ahead of me in my own ‘announcement of a hiatus’ post. Different circumstances, but still need to alert the readers that we’re not ignoring the blog…
    In my case, it’s cool good news, too…I’ll be in the recording studio again! Yippee to both of us on our happy stuff.
    But, so sorry to hear of your friends accident…your spare time is wisely spent with your circle of loved ones. Best wishes.
    peace

  10. Hi Geralyn. Just wanted to pop by and let you know that I read your essay about your dad. I remember this one. Congratulations on a job well done. I know you know that my life and relationship with my dad was much less than ideal as well. And it’s funny that in time people do change, even if it’s just a bit. I’m also sorry that you had to go through what you did. The lack of your dad’s presence and love and time. The lack of a healthy relationship… that’s not the way it should ever be, is it?
    Bless you and bless your dad.
    Hope you’re friend is getting better. Her and her family. Hope you are staying strong and loving your new job.
    🙂 ❤

  11. So glad you are loving the new path, Geralyn. I understand about not being around too much in the blogging world. I too have been mostly absent. Like you put so aptly, my heart and head are not in it at present. Have a great day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

