On Turning 52

IMG_3438 (2)

51 years, 11 months and 29 days

My birthday is tomorrow and, as the old saying goes, time flies. This past year has been filled with family, friends, new adventures and some recurring ones with slightly different twists. I remember being a kid and thinking “in the year 2000, I’ll be 38.” The millennium seemed so far off in those days, now the New Year’s Eve I spent celebrating Y2K with friends is a pleasant, but distant, memory…..and so is 38.

I threw myself a birthday bash in my backyard on the eve of my 50th. My loved ones ate salad, eggplant parmesan, chicken, risotto, grilled veggies catered from a local restaurant and carrot cake with me under a huge tent. My neighbor’s gift to me was a colorful assortment of flowers cut from her garden; I stuck them in unmatched bottles and cans on each table. Bill created a special song list for me which played softly in the background. Some of us stayed long after the sun had set and the multi colored lights wrapped over and through the tent had been plugged in. It was exactly the way I wanted to spend the day. The following month we flew to Italy to enjoy a two-week tour.

Last year, turning 51 was uneventful in comparison. I spent the day with Bill who knows me well and made sure there was cake and ice cream. It was low-key, no party in the backyard. But, as I do every year, I celebrated the whole month with friends and family. The following month we hiked in Southern Utah for a week.

I am looking forward to turning 52, am excited to see what the next year will bring and grateful for everything I’ve experienced in this last year. Tomorrow we’ll be getting up early to hike Mt Monadnock in New Hampshire. We attended a fundraiser with some friends last night and will see some of my family on Sunday. We’re having dinner with another couple next weekend and I just spent four days in the sun with a good friend. This is exactly what I want to be doing.

And, I put my request in early – cake and ice cream, Please!

 

6 replies

  1. A very Happy Day is wished for you my love on a day that was very happy for me. I got to meet you and share my life path with you. Love Mom xo

  2. Jill, You’re one of the people who’s helped me so much this year, with this blog and with all the other stuff we’ve talked about. You inspire me! And you’re still in your 40s, that should be celebrated!! 🙂

Leave a comment