That went fast

 

November came and went in a blur. We hosted dinners, one with family, the other with friends, to show photos and share stories of our trip to South Africa. Bill pulled about 250 of the 2700 photos we both took and created a short slide show of highlights. He made vegetarian chili, I made butternut squash soup and escarole and beans for our first gathering. We lost a little steam in the kitchen and ordered a tray of eggplant parmesan for our next dinner.

PicMonkey Collage

kirstenbosch botanical gardens

PicMonkey Collage

Mid-month a group of us took a weekend trip into NYC to see a new musical, Invisible Thread,Off-Broadway. Jana is involved in the show so we were able to meet some of the actors before the performance at a reception and, again, after the show. We met Matt and Griffin last year, heard some of their music at a fundraiser; it was wonderful to see how Witness Uganda has morphed into the finished product of Invisible Thread. We loved it.

IMG_0248

with Joanne and Jana in NYC

Mom flew up from Florida last week to spend Thanksgiving with us. It’s the one day during the year we’re all together and it means a lot to my mother. On the eve of Thanksgiving we had dinner with my sister, one of my brothers and his daughter, Bill and one of his daughters. On Thanksgiving Bill and Casey had dinner with his family and my other brother and sister in law joined the rest of the crew. We may have started a new tradition, we took a short walk after dinner. Usually we head straight for coffee and dessert, filling our lungs with the brisk afternoon air felt good and helped us digest our food before the next course of homemade cookies, pumpkin, pecan and fruit of the forest pies and ice cream. I’ve been watching my carbohydrate and sugar intake since finding out I’m borderline diabetic; I managed to get out for a 3 1/2 mile run in the morning and through the rest of the day and night with just a small slice of pecan pie and whipped cream. Not bad considering I would have sampled all three and a couple of cookies.

There was a yoga class to benefit the Veterans. I sat outside the Raven’s Wing yoga studio for half an hour, thinking I was early. When I finally went in, I realized I should have been down the street at the Raven’s Nest and ended up being half an hour late.

I expanded my blog post about my dad into an essay and submitted it to an online publication. They’re going to publish it but I’m not sure when. I’m working on another essay, too. It’s slow and steady; I’m writing when I can, jumping from essay to memoir to short story. I’m reading, too, with a list of books on deck.

Leaves were raked and bagged, deck furniture put away for the season, spring bulbs planted. I ran a little, hiked a little, got my teeth cleaned and blood drawn. I finished watching seven seasons of Sons of Anarchy on Netflix. All in all it was a very good month. Let’s see what December brings.

 

 

 

 

 

 

41 replies

  1. Wow! November was full! Hope your December is as much fun. And that food sounded so wonderful! Can’t remember the last time I had butternut squash soup! I love it but alas, my husband does not.

  2. Congratulations on getting your story published, Geralyn! That’s exciting news!
    Gosh, November flew in a blink of an eye…not ready for winter. 😦
    The photographs of the flowers are beautiful!

  3. The month did indeed fly by. I can’t believe it’s the first of December. I can feel the requirements of Christmas prep pecking at my shoulder. Better get started soon.

    Congrats on the upcoming publication! Very exciting.

    I’ve been wondering about watching Sons of Anarchy. Sounds like you enjoyed it?

    • I’m going to try my hardest to enjoy December and not get caught up in the commercial aspect of it. It’s usually a time I see a lot of friends and family which is what the season means to me. Sons was rough. I probably watched 1/2 of the season through closed eyes but I did enjoy it. It’s like Sopranos, you end up liking some of the bad guys.

  4. What a delicious sounding Thanksgiving, Geralyn. Your running, hiking, yoga and leaf raking must have helped to burn off the extra calories though. 🙂 Congratulations on your essay getting published. So excited for you. xx

  5. I love the pictures. They are just gorgeous! Wow what a busy month for you and congrats on having your essay published! That is really wonderful! I am so glad your mom had all of you together! 🙂

  6. It sounds like you had an eventful November. It must have been fun to share memories of your trip and the photos. If the rest are anywhere as good as these, I’m sure people loved them.

    Congratulations on the acceptance of your essay on your dad. That’s great news.

  7. Loved reading about your November Geralyn, talk about being busy but in a good way. Wonderful photographs. How cool is it your work was accepted, doesn’t surprise me in the least ~ congratulations.

  8. Sounds like you’ve been busy. That’s great. I love how your December went. Lots of fun and outings and friends and family and celebrating. I’m sure December will be even more full with the Christmas season and all. Hope you have a blast.
    Have a wonderful day Geralyn.
    🙂

  9. Congrats on the upcoming publication of your essay! You have had a busy, busy month. I’m glad you’re watchingyour health. I pray that you’ll have a wonderful December.

  10. Lovely photos!
    Congrats on expanding your post about your dad and submitting it. Let us know when it’s published, please. Also, how nice to spend time with your mom. Such previous times with family.
    And butternut squash soup – one of my faves. Congrats on that too.
    Funny about being late for that event. I have been both early by exactly one week and late by exactly one week, so got you beat!

    • Oh that’s funny about being a week early/late, Cynthia. And thanks for your encouragement. I’ll be sure to let everyone know when my essay goes live. I just bought another butternut squash for another vat of soup. It’s so delicious. Have a good week.

  11. Don’t know how but I had missed this post. WeW!, whirlwind month. Yes the best time of the year when I get to bask in the presence of all of you. So loving, giving, accomplished and absolutely the treasures of my life. The radiance of all of you stays with me when I leave. All of you fill me with pride and the warmth of your love. I am one lucky person to have been chosen to be Mom to each of you in this life experience. Thanks to each of you for all the joy you and your families bring me Xoxo

  12. You did have a full month – I guess that’s what made it fly by faster. I like the photos, especially of the second flower because that is one I used to see a lot when I lived in Pretoria.

Leave a comment